Say Hello to Say hello to Freyelli by Ellie Hipkin

Tell us a bit about you and what you do/ make…

I am a local textile artist, and I hand paint onto silk. I paint original artwork taking much of my inspiration from the wild flowers that grow on the beaches around Brighton and the south coast. From this inspiration I also hand paint clothing, scarves, cushions and bags.

Picture 477

How long have you been making your craft items?

For about 18 months, I started painting again on maternity leave after having my daughter. I worked as a fashion designer in London for 12 years working with some of the biggest high street names. Because of my design background textile, print and embroidery is a strong theme throughout my work.

Picture 498

Do you have a best seller? If so what is it? And do you have some special festive items planned to sell?

My original paintings and cushions are my best sellers. So for Christmas I have been busy painting more cushions ready for the up and coming fairs. I have also added mini original paintings to make buying  original painting more affordable and perfect for a Christmas present.

Picture 499

What do you enjoy most about your craft?

Painting onto silk is a very organic experience and once you start adding the dyes it reacts differently every time, making each piece unique.

Do you take part in other craft events (fairs, open houses, markets etc…)?

Mainly the Makers Boutique fair, I occasionally take part in the Brighton Craft fair. In the past I have been part of the Dragon Fly House open house also.

Picture 500

What are your plans/ ambitions for the future? Or have you already achieved them?

I am taking time off next year to have baby number 2, due on the 2nd of Feb, but I will keep painting when I can!

Picture 501

Sum up what Christmas is to you in 5 words or less!:

Children, excitement, family, great food!

Sussex beach in summer

Link to your site/ blog/ social accounts:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Freyelli/133112546828684

www.freyelli.com

http://www.pinterest.com/freyelli/boards

Leave a Reply

Archives

The Countdown Has Begun!

The Fairy Tale Fair BrightonApril 12th, 2014
The Fairy Tale Fair has arrived in Brighton!
