Say Hello To…Deborah Ballinger Illustrations

Well we are back with our first interview of our Spring fair, and we are starting with the highly talented Deborah Ballinger and her wonderful illustrations. As well as being amazing detailed they are also perfectly fitted for our fairy tale theme, often featuring woodland animals, cakes and whimsical items.

“I love coming up new designs all the time! The trouble is I have so many ideas and not enough time to make them all in”.– Deborah

Tell us a bit about you and what you do/ make….
I am a freelance illustrator, surface and giftware designer based in Hove. I create illustrations inspired by flora and fauna, culture, history and sometimes the macabre applying them to all kinds of paper based products.

Picture 56

How would you describe your style?
Traditional and kitsch.

How long have you been making your craft items?
After graduating in 2010 from Norwich University of the Arts, I freelanced for a couple of years before deciding to really focus on using my illustrations on giftware. I officially started up last year with the Princes Trust, and since have been selling across the country with stockist’s from London to Liverpool.

Picture 55

Do you have a best seller? If so what is it?
My bestsellers are my temporary tattoos! People love pretending to have an owl or a fox as a tattoo!

What do you enjoy most about your craft?
I love coming up new designs all the time! The trouble is I have so many ideas and not enough time to make them all in.

Do you take part in other craft events (fairs, open houses, markets etc…)?
I have previously taken part with the Secret Emporium at the Wilderness Festival, as well as at the Brighton Craft fair. This year I am booked up with fairs in Spitalfields Market and also Makers Boutique here in Brighton.

Picture 57

What items and Mother’s day/ Easter gifts will you be selling at The Fairy Tale Fair?
As well as my current ranges of note cards, temporary tattoos and tote bags I will also be selling my pack of Easter cards and Easter wrap, as well as my Mothers day cards and gift wrap.

Picture 58

What are your plans/ ambitions for the future? Or have you already achieved them?
There are so many things I want to do/expand on! But I guess for starters I hope to move into the ceramics and homeware with my illustrations, and of course get some more lovely stockists across the country!

Picture 60

We can’t wait to welcome Deborah to her first Fairy Tale Fair on Saturday 9th March, find out more about her work on her site here: www.loveraccoons.co.uk and also on Facebook: www.facebook.com/DeborahBallingerIllustrations

Leave a comment

Archives

The Countdown Has Begun!

The Fairy Tale Fair BrightonApril 12, 2014
The Fairy Tale Fair has arrived in Brighton!