Say Hello To…Sasa Boo

Today we Say Hello To…Sasa Boo! We love her knitted rabbits and we are looking forward to meeting them at the fair!

It’s not about world domination, just bringing new creations to the market which I think are special and affordable. – Sasa Boo

Tell us a bit about you and what you do/ make….
I work with two incredibly talented Aunts who are skilled knitters and sewers. Together we combine our passion for hand-made crafts and items we wish existed. We have always hand an eye for cute prints, interesting buttons and novel accessories which helped to inspire us to create Sasa Boo. Having worked in jewellery for five years I have a keen eye for what people are looking for and what isn’t in every shop. Combining a love of interesting vintage finds I source items across the world wide web to create pieces that I would love to receive.

 How would you describe your style?
As I’ve got older I prefer to invest in timeless pieces, especially good tailoring and classic prints. However, I have a quirky edge to my style – whether that be a bow here and there or a ribbon worn around my waist, not forgetting my love of ballerina pumps. However, when it comes to the home its a mix of classic country interior meets french boudoir chic. I love to collect ornaments along the way and any pretty print, be it cushions, curtains or bedding.
 How long have you been making your craft items?
My jewellery line which is stocked in a store in Brighton was formed last year. My online shop on etsy was also established last year and has been running successfully. However, I’ve been making and doing long, long before then.Yet, having the confidence to sell your creations is quite another adventure all together and before I was happy just making for friends and family. It is still nerve wracking unveiling your creations, especially when you know how long they have taken to create, but it is always satisfying to hear positive feedback.
 Do you have a best seller? If so what is it?
My resin hair slides have been the most popular online item along with my hand-made, water colour greetings cards.
What do you enjoy most about your craft?
Being a trainee teacher takes a lot of my spare time and I rarely have “me time” but sitting down to paint, make or create is a fantastic way to escape into my imagination and is thoroughly therapeutic. I love seeing my ideas come to life and for me its about making something special and individual.
 Do you take part in other craft events?
I have recently taken part in a fair in Brighton at ‘The Friends Meeting House’ and will also be doing a fair in July in Worthing’s new ‘Barties Boutique’. Towards Christmas I hope to show at Craftaganza in Brighton as well.
What products/ items will you be selling at The Fairy Tale Fair?
The fair will have a good range of affordable gifts. For jewellery I will be selling some vintage brass jewellery and some sterling silver pieces, I will also have a range of hair slides to. The famous knitted bunnies will be there along with some other knitted items. Fabric hearts and scented pouches as well as hand-made fabric covered notebooks will be on sale to. My most recent creation will be showcased which allows the purchaser to create a personalized greetings card, selecting one of my hand-made illustrated cards and a brass initial or numeral necklace, all for £4.50. A really lovely and simple gift.
 What are your plans/ ambitions for the future? Or have you already achieved them?
 I’ve always got a head full of ideas and it’s my husband who has to reign me back in. I will definitely continue to create and make, as well as sell at local fairs. I focus alot on the website and hope to expand this in the future. When I can I would love to open my own tea room and would sell all my crafts alongside the delicious cakes and freshly brewed tea. It’s not about world domination, just bringing new creations to the market which I think are special and affordable.
Check us out at the Fairy Tale Fair and online at:
Web: www.sasaboo.co.uk
Etsy: www.etsy.com/shop/SasaBoo
We can’t wait to see all of Sasa Boo’s wonderful creations and have our eye on her beautiful handmade cards!
Leave a Reply

Archives

The Countdown Has Begun!

The Fairy Tale Fair BrightonApril 12th, 2014
The Fairy Tale Fair has arrived in Brighton!
